Our Board is responsible for setting our strategic direction, monitoring performance, managing risk and maintaining compliance.

Darren Cooper

Appointed to the Board on 1 September 2021, Darren Cooper has more than 20 years’ experience in the property industry.

He is currently Managing Director of his own consulting business and holds a number of Board and strategic advisory positions across property, training and labour hire, technology and e-commerce organisations.

He is a Past President and Life Member of the Urban Development Institute of Australia (UDIA) in Western Australia and a Past President of UDIA National.

Darren is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has a Bachelor of Business and Masters of Applied Finance.

Rebecca Field
Deputy Chairperson

Appointed to the Board on 1 January 2018 and appointed Deputy Chairperson on 16 October 2019, Rebecca is the Chairperson of the Board’s Governance and Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Rebecca is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a partner at Corrs Chambers Westgarth. Known for her combination of excellent technical ability, good commercial sense and strategic thinking, Rebecca advises clients on the legal, strategic and risk management issues associated with property development and redevelopment projects, and the sale, acquisition and leasing of large commercial, retail, industrial, pastoral, agricultural and tourism assets. Rebecca also has many years’ experience in property and development finance.

Reg Gillard
Board Member

Reg was appointed to the DevelopmentWA Board on 1 September 2021.

He has extensive experience in accounting, corporate management and governance.

Reg has helped guide around 30 ASX-listed companies through executive and non-executive director and chair roles and is now in semi-retirement.

Jane Bennett
Board Member

Appointed to the Board on 1 January 2018, Jane is a member of the Board’s Statutory Planning Committee and Chairperson of the Central Perth, Midland and Scarborough Land Redevelopment Committees.

With extensive experience as a practising town planner in local government and private practice, she has been instrumental in the planning and delivery of major residential, commercial and industrial projects in Western Australia, as well as major government and institutional projects.

Jane is a strong advocate for, and actively involved in the planning reform agenda. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Urban and Regional Planning, a Masters in Business Administration and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Jane was made a Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia in 2015 for her contribution to planning.

Jane is an owner and Director at CLE Town Planning and Design and is a member of the Western Australian Planning Commission. Jane is a UDIA WA Councillor and Chair of the Planning Committee.

Dale Page
Board Member

Appointed to the Board on 1 January 2018, Dale is a member of the Board’s Statutory Planning Committee, Governance and Remuneration Committee, and is also Chairperson of the Armadale and Subiaco Land Redevelopment Committees.

As Director of Planning and Community Development at the City of Joondalup since 2010, Dale is responsible for statutory and strategic urban planning, building approvals, environmental health (including immunisation), planning and building compliance (including swimming pools), community development activities and the City of Joondalup’s four libraries.

Dale has considerable experience in delivering land development projects throughout Western Australia, previously working in senior roles at the East Perth and Subiaco Redevelopment Authorities and LandCorp.

Simon Reed
Board Member

Appointed to the Board on 16 October 2019, Simon is a member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Simon is also head of the Perth Corporate Group for law firm Herbert Smith Freehills. He has over 20 years of experience as a corporate lawyer, advising both listed and private companies as well as government and statutory bodies. Simon specialises in governance matters, mergers and acquisitions, capital markets and corporate re-constructions. He has acted for clients in a range of sectors including mining, energy, financial services, manufacturing and property. Simon has strong relationships with all key stakeholders in the Australian corporate regulatory landscape.

Simon holds a Bachelor of Laws with honours and a Bachelor of Economics. Simon also holds a Graduate Diploma of Applied Finance and Investment (corporate finance major) from FINSIA. He was previously a board member for WA Music.

Alan Carpenter
Board Member

Alan was appointed to the Board on 30 September 2020.

Alan is a former Premier of Western Australia. He also served as State Development Minister and held numerous portfolios during his time as a member of the West Australian Parliament.

A senior journalist before entering politics, Alan went on to be Wesfarmers’ Executive General Manager Corporate Affairs, for nine years before retiring in December 2018.

Alan has also been a board member for HIF (Health Insurance Fund of Australia) and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.